Tie Goes to the Runner?

There is no rule that states that a tie goes to the runner. Well at least not in those exact words. The portion of the rule in section 6.05 that applies to this states, "A batter is out when after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base." Since the rule states "before", it is easy to assume that a tie does in fact go to the runner. But, since this is a judgment call you won't win an argument by yelling "a tie goes to the runner".

Have the QCBaseball blog sent straight to your inbox!

Delivered by FeedBurner

Most Recent Blog Posts

How Youth Baseball players Can Deal with Nervousness (March 17 2015)

New Website Lauched (March 16 2015)

More Posts...

QCBaseball.com is proudly sponsored by

I found your website by "googling" for a baseball website to give me some advice about helping my grandson with basic skills. I have been reading with great interest until my eyes get "bleary". Good stuff. Really good stuff. You are providing the kind of advice I was looking for and you do a very thorough job of it. Keep up the great work.
A big fan,

- Stephen B.